Sunday Post: Natural Resources

Jake’s theme for this week is natural resources…click here to go to his page, find out about his challenge and have a look at other bloggers’ photos..or maybe join in?

This weeks challenge was hard for me.  I had to look up what Natural Resources are being used here in Indiana. It is amazing to learn about several of these resources that are here in Indiana.

” A region’s natural resources are important to its economy, sustaining jobs and livelihoods. They also have value as cultural and recreational resources, so it is important to support and keep natural resources for the benefit of future generations. In Indiana, this responsibility falls mainly to the Department of Natural Resources (DNR), which manages and conserves the state’s natural resources.”  Read more: List of Natural Resources in Indiana |

  • Timber and Forestry–Indiana has 13 state forests and 85 % of those forestry land is privately owned.  Indiana has two tree nurseries managed by the DNR’s Forestry Division.
  • Gas and Oil–there are about 500 oil fields in the state.
  • Indiana Waterways–mainly used for navigational and recreational purposes, like boating and fishing.
  • Coal–Approximately 70% of local coal production comes from surface mining.

Below is a photo that my cousin put on Pinterest of our grandparents farm.  The windmill, used to pump water into the tank.  Today, the windmill still works, but the well went dry about 5 years ago.

Natural resources.

This windmill and water tank is from my grandparent farm, though they are no longer with us…it is still in the family. This photo was placed on Pinterest by a cousin. I have permission to use.  The windmill was used to run the pump to pump water into the tank for farm use.

Farmland here in Indiana.  This field is soon ready to be harvested.  The field corn will be used to feed farm animals.

Indiana corn field ready soon to be harvested. (Photo first used for Travel Theme: Foliage back in Sept. 2012)

This year, I noticed several home vegetable gardens than in past years.  The struggling economy and poor job outlook could be the main reasons.  Canning your vegetables saves money and usually lasts into the middle of the following planting season.

My cousin’s vegetable garden. I did notice that this year there were more gardens grown in back yards than in the past. It is most likely due to the struggling economy. Home canned items can be used when needed and not have to be bought in the grocery stores.

Come and join in on the fun; the following are the steps to follow.

1. Each week, we’ll provide a theme for creative inspiration. Show the world based on your interpretation what you have in mind for the theme, and post them on your blog anytime before the following Sunday when the next photo theme will be announced.

2. Subscribe to jakesprinter so that you don’t miss out on weekly challenge announcements. Sign up via the email subscription link in the sidebar or RSS.


Related articles

Tags: , , , , ,

About danajoward

I am a retired Registered Nurse and disabled. I love my dog, Brandy. She keeps me company, moving and happy. I don't have time to be depressed with her around me...we take care of each other. I love to take photos, I wish I had a better camera with more experience behind the lens. Animals and Nature I love to spend time with and in. I am having fun with the challenges and I have enjoyed reading other's post. Thank you for allowing me to share a part of my life with you and yours with me.

8 responses to “Sunday Post: Natural Resources”

  1. Lucid Gypsy says :

    A great post Dana Jo, and if more people are going back to traditional ways to preserve food that has to be good!

    • danajoward says :

      I would be a practical solution for those who don’t have a lot of money or like here in the U.S. those that are on food stamps. It would be a good thing. Thank you very much for stopping by and commenting. I appreciate your feedback! Have a Great Week!! ;)

  2. jakesprinter says :

    Great photography my friend for this week theme , I love your windmill thanks for sharing my friend :)

  3. danajoward says :

    Thanks for the ping back! :)

  4. danajoward says :

    Thank you for the pingback! Have a great week ;)


Eclectic Musings, Memoirs, Music and More

Abandoned Kansai

All abandoned: Chernobyl / Pripyat, Nara Dreamland, Anti-Zombie Fortress, Japanese Sex Museum - and many, many more! Plus: North Korea Special - 2 trips, 16 days / 14 nights! As seen on CNN...

The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

A topnotch site

Next Picture, Please >>>

Celebrating life one picture at a time

cheap hotels me

A fine site


un occhio a quello che accade


A life without regrets!

Humbled Pie

Southern Livin' and Travelin', mostly photographed with some Home Cookin' and only slightly embellished Storytellin'

Sharmishtha Basu

paintings, poems and thoughts


Come, Hear What I Have to Say and Show You!

Cee's Photography

My life in photographs.


-just another part of me-

Of pilgrims & prophets

The life of a modern day artist...

Anotherdayinparadise2's Blog

Just another site


To See a World in a Grain of Sand...


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,121 other followers

