Weekly Photo Challenge: Urban

I chose this photo of a Student Nurse from Indiana Wesleyan University, taught tooth-brushing to students at school in Duhaney Park, Jamaica.  The children craved attention from U.S. citizens.  In this one-room school-house, there were no chalk boards, no windows and no doors.  Just 4 walls and a roof.  2 walls with small openings (as seen in Photo) across from each other, 2 walls, solid stone also, across from each other, where the opening were for doors.  Jamaica emulates the american class rooms.  The children hung their art work from thread stretched across the room. They stuck home and art work boards on the walls of the school and on wooden panels made for the teachers.  All the children were eager to take part.  (I was the student nurse in that picture.)

Intercultural Nursing in Jamaica

Urban Jamaica

This second photo; flooding in the city, photographed from a roof-top higher up, after Hurricane Katrina went through New Orleans.  I did not take this photo.  This shows how people survived.  People used coolers to float personal items in and on, including food from stores.  People were resourceful in getting what they needed until help arrived.  Yes, some looted, some died, some stayed, some relocated and some went back home to New Orleans after being shuttled out to other parts of the U.S.

Aftermath of Katrina

Surviving after Katrina

These are my “Urban” photos for this weeks Challenge.  I hope you see the people how I seen them.  Please feel free to comment!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About danajoward

I am a retired Registered Nurse and disabled. I love my dog, Brandy. She keeps me company, moving and happy. I don't have time to be depressed with her around me...we take care of each other. I love to take photos, I wish I had a better camera with more experience behind the lens. Animals and Nature I love to spend time with and in. I am having fun with the challenges and I have enjoyed reading other's post. Thank you for allowing me to share a part of my life with you and yours with me.

12 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Urban”

  1. Cardinal Guzman says :

    Powerful capture of the hurricane aftermath. Thanks for the pingback.

    • danajoward says :

      Thank you! I have several pictures of the aftermath of “Katrina”. I want to put a slide-show together and add to a blog. You are welcome on the pingback :)

  2. eof737 says :

    Add another link to the Daily Post page, your other one doesn’t work… What you add should be this: https://danajoward.wordpress.com/2012/08/24/weekly-photo-challenge-urban/
    Eliz :-)

  3. stillstrange says :

    Wow, how exciting that you were the school nurse in training that day. I like your blog. Wish I had responded sooner when you commented on mine but I’m here now.

    • danajoward says :

      Thank you for your kind comment. It was exciting and I would go back in a second if I could. I’m glad you took the time to check in with me. Welcome anytime :)


Eclectic Musings, Memoirs, Music and More

Abandoned Kansai

All abandoned: Chernobyl / Pripyat, Nara Dreamland, Anti-Zombie Fortress, Japanese Sex Museum - and many, many more! Plus: North Korea Special - 2 trips, 16 days / 14 nights! As seen on CNN...

The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Next Picture, Please >>>

Celebrating life one picture at a time

cheap hotels me

A fine WordPress.com site


un occhio a quello che accade


A life without regrets!

Humbled Pie

Southern Livin' and Travelin', mostly photographed with some Home Cookin' and only slightly embellished Storytellin'

Sharmishtha Basu

paintings, poems and thoughts


Come, Hear What I Have to Say and Show You!

Cee's Photography

My life in photographs.


-just another part of me-

Of pilgrims & prophets

The life of a modern day artist...

Anotherdayinparadise2's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site


To See a World in a Grain of Sand...


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,121 other followers

